I never actually saw any fireworks [ 2004-07-06, 3:33 p.m. ]

Well uhhmmm. hi.

I normally reserve most of my politi-chat for my website, but since I'm crunched for time I'll briefly comment here. (or what is at least briefly for "me" heh.)

John Edwards for Veep is a lousy selection.

It does nothing for the ticket. Nothing. Having Opie Taylor on his ticket will not make Kerry suddenly "likeable" in the South. It will not budge the white male voter or the old Reagan Democrats at all. If that was the intent I guess. Speechs about raising taxes and bowing to the UN have ruled that possibility out.

What should he have done?

To win he need not worry about the aforementioned white male or southern vote. He just needs what is his base to turn out in droves. "I'm not Bush" will only excite so many people. However, had he nominated a female (Hillary Clinton) or a minority (several good candidates) then the female and minority turnout could be huge. Kerry is just another ultra-rich pastey white guy and Edwards is a sorta-rich on his way to pastey white guy who talks kinda funny. Golden opportunity missed if you ask me. (well no one did, but still!)

Went to the old hometown of Roanoke, Va for the weekend. It was kind of a whirlwind two day trip, but it was fun.

On the fourth I went to Thomas Jefferson's second residence at Poplar Forest nearby. I am of course keenly interested in Mr. Jefferson and study him daily, so it was nice to get out and commune with some of his work in person. The restoration is coming along wonderfully. Despite nearly oppressive heat and humidity (and I thought Georgia was bad) I had a grand time there.

The rest of the time I just chilled with the old folks (i.e. my parents) and ate and drank an insane amount of coca-cola.

The long drive back took a toll on my ever hurting back. I had an appointment for a physical this a.m. and the doctor noticed the inflammation. So, tomorrow I go for an MRI.

I still think it's just a matter of time for this to slowly heal but it doesn't hurt to check it out I s'pose.

The worst part was having to fast last night and this morning. No coffee!! I nearly died. I drove out of the office and high-tailed it for the nearest fast food place I could find for some steaming coffee. The headache and malaise without caffeine were horrible. Yes, addiction is a nasty business I tell ya.

I won't even mention the other sadistic things involved in the physical but needless to say I am happy it is over.

And just to show how evolved yours truly is, I chose this time a female doctor. If someone has to poke and pull and prod at my nether regions, I say let it be a woman. Mostly though, I have learned working with doctors every day that female doctors tend to be more careful and concerned with their patients. And that is the kind of care I felt I received today.

Let's see, Edwards is ho-hum, trip home was humid and Coke filled, chick doc poked and prodded and sent me for MRI, and I am a hopeless caffeine addict.

I think that covers it all.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level