at home he feels like a tourist [ 2004-07-18, 7:56 p.m. ]

It is ever the dilemma for me.

I love to go places and see the sights and all, you know, to tour. However, I can't bear the thought of appearing to be a tourist.

I don't know why this is. At places I've lived, when I've encountered or seen tourists, I don't believe I've thought bad things about them. Yet when I think of going somewhere I figure I must cut the figure of the very worst tourist cliche'. As if suddenly I have three video cameras running, wearing plaid shorts with black socks and tennis shoes and a tee-shirt I obviously bought shortly before with that particular places' logo on it, with a big pair of Mickey Mouse ears on.

I would be happy, I guess, if I could plan ten years in advance and then go to my intended destination, buy a house and live there a part of the year. Then during my vacation if someone asked if I was visiting I'd say, "nah, I have a house over across town".

Hey, I never said I wasn't damned weird sometimes. Okay maybe more than sometimes.

I should have joined the CIA and become a spook. They go to school and study how to be dropped anywhere in the world and instantly fit in like a local. Yes, that would have kicked ass.

Despite my best pretend spy school efforts, I am sure I will appear quite the tourist in New Orleans. But if I work hard enough to be incognito maybe, just maybe, there will be a shred of doubt to someone who sees me there. I could also simply look like a moron trying to pretend to be a local for reasons both bizarre and peculiar.

I have business to transact Tuesday and most of Wednesday but Thursday and Friday are all mine. The Sig Ot simply has the whole week to do as she pleases. In her typical manner she has dog-eared a travel guide and subjected it to a highlighter and a bevy of paper clips. I fear however, that for her to accomplish all she has marked, she'll need to spend the rest of the summer there as well.

It works out well usually when we travel. The combination of her hyper-organization and planning and my usual seat of the pants "oh let's go there" finds us normally at a pretty good happy medium. It makes her do something off course and surprising and makes me not end missing most of the landmarks with my willy-nilly, squirrel crossing the road, style of touring.

For my flight and waiting for the flight reading pleasure, I have procurred the latest biography of the most misunderstood man in American history, Alexander Hamilton. I should note that it was 200 years ago last week, July 12 in fact, that Hamilton was killed in a duel with Vice President Aaron Burr. Imagine politicians who felt honor and dignity important enough to fight to the death for it! These career politicians nowadays find little worth fighting for, save their own perks and pay-offs. BUT, this book has all that good summer-time reading requires. Political intrique, a sex scandal, violence and war, romance, riches and finally a dramatic death. And it's all true!

I may have something to say in the morning and maybe even during my trip but if I don't, I certainly should wish to take a moment to state that I wish all of the gentle readers of this humble and often trying diary, to have a great and prosperous week.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level