farewell to a best friend [ 2005-01-25, 1:05 p.m. ]

A friend of mine had to put her cat to sleep this week. It has made me mindful of my own animals and what they mean to me. And I can imagine just how she feels but the little guy is now out of pain and peaceful once more.
The Sig Ot often remarks that I am much more likely to cry when my dog dies than if she did. Now while that is a bit of a stretch to be sure, she is hitting on some truth there. I think more of animals than 99% of the human population. I swear I would be much more likely to risk my neck to save an animal than a humans these days. The way it is now the person I saved from being hit by a car would sue me because they suffered a broken arm because of it. Save a person from being attacked and the Police will arrest YOU for assaulting the criminal. People suck is what I am trying to say. A more selfish, whiney ass lot this earth has never seen.
However, when I see a wagging tail or hear a purring "meow" I know that a friend is on the sending end. Courage without worry for themselves, loyal without questioning, caring without conditions, these are our animal friends. You can dispute whether a heaven or afterlife exists all day. But if one does, and if takes merit to enter, then it must be full of these fine animals and a scarcity of humans.
So God bless those fine creatures who bring so much comfort and joy to their human companions. And may they all receive a scratch behind the ear and a couple treats just like they deserve on me.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level