Bob Dylan writes propaganda songs part 2 [ 2005-12-15, 9:25 a.m. ]

oh my dear old brain, how you have never progressed beyond 13 years old. I was just walking by two people conversing about, I think, the weather and the icy conditions. As I passed I heard:
"it was so hard and stiff I had to beat and beat on it to soften it up"
I burst out laughing and claim to have been thinking of something I'd heard earlier. Oh no, I just laughed again as I read it. Oh my.
Driving in this a.m I was attempting to switch radio stations and hit CD in error and the CD I had inserted (heh,heh, you said "inserted"...shuttup brain shuttup!) and then I was magically transported to another time and another place by the song cued up. It was surreal! Way back when with that certain someone...a thousand visions of that roller coaster ride hit me during that three or so minutes.
And then I wondered if I had died and was having one of those flashbacks of your life things. Which would mean that the transport to the Great Beyond was happening in a Ranger pick up and surely the head cheeses at the Great Beyond would choose something more fuel efficient for that long journey. Ya know?
So I touched myself (heh,heh you said...stop it, stop it 13 year old brain I swear I'll..) to make sure I was still among the living. And I was it turns out.
Speaking of surreal and radio, Bob Dylan is coming to XM radio! Holy Moses smell the roses! What are these people thinking?
I'm assuming that XM head cheeses have heard this guy "speak", as it were, anytime in the past 30 odd years. It sounds as though Mumblin' Bob will merely be a DJ and not talk show host but still! Will there be a translator? There can't be subtitles or anything.
Bob Dylan: "eh, zimplelitsidy ahoghdmbymmmphh eh zimble."
Translator guy: "Bob says a hearty hello to you all out there in radio land!"
While this will be darned funny for oh...five minutes or so, and give me material for doing my Bob D. imitation at bar tables across America, who could listen for long? Somebody in XM cheesequarters is "one toke over the line".
13 year old brain: oh! you threaten me for having some fun, then you think you're clever and funny without me. That is not a Bob Dylan song, rocket scientist!
me: "one toke over the line"? Really? which smelly hippy was it then?
13 year etc: Could be the Band maybe.
me: same thing man! that was his backup band.
13 year etc: It's not the same thing!
me: Is too!
13: Is not!
me: bite me!
13: oh that's very adult!

And they never knew why he blew his brains out one day.
But back to the point (as if I had one in the first place), who's tuning in Dylan as a DJ? Sure, maybe aging smelly hippies will and some younger wannabes as well, but this can't be a money maker. Maybe I'm just missing the boat or something. Maybe a Dylan fan could tell me the amount of acid that must be dropped before you understand the mumbling. Then I can tune in and not tune out.
Nah, I'd still tune out.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level