ode to spring and canines [ 2004-03-16, 9:11 a.m. ]

Ahh the weather gods do smile upon me today.

Before the rain moved in, I was able to get my gang o'dogs out in the yard to take care "bizzness" and they even had time for a round or two of wrestlemania before they had to come in.

Then the rain moved in, did it's thing, and now the sun is out. Now that is the way to do it, weather gods.

Also the weather for my trip looks just perfect so far.

I am having the best time watching little Max. He is a good dog. His owners have trouble with him digging out of their fence and whining, but Nikki and I have him in line. I have a temporary fence around some new plantings to keep the dogs out and Nik will keep him where he needs to be with a nudge acting like 100% border collie rather than 50%.

But I go out with them to keep an eye out and with this beautiful weather it's been a pleasure being out so much in it.

My neighbor Ray from Cali is beside himself with how beautiful the spring is here. I told him this winter how it would snow one day and then go crazy green and blooming overnight. He now agrees with me that you miss a lot in the land of always 75 degrees when you don't have the seasons changing.

But anyway, it's been instructive to have Max for other reasons as well. Nikki was my first dog and I am told she is exceptionally smart and clever and so I've wondered if her good training was my instruction or just her intelligence. But Max, a sweet dog but not quite as high IQ with supposed behavior modification needs, has responded to my instruction quite well. I have no doubt I can handle my next puppy equally well.

Three days and counting!!!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level