parental advisory [ 2004-05-20, 9:14 a.m. ]

My parents and sister arrive later today to stay with me until Sunday. Which is cool they are pretty laid back easy going people. And it will actually make me slow down the pace a bit, which is a good thing. I have tomorrow off from work and I figure I'll entertain them with some touristy stuff and grill out etc.

It's been helpful to inspire me to kick butt and get a lot of stuff done in a short period of time. The guest room is all fixed up now and I did about a months worth of garden/yard work in three days.

Saturday the Sig Ot's parentals come over and will have a big en masse grill out. I figure it's like when you are a child and you go somewhere and you get thrown with whatever kid is there no matter how ghastly the kid is. We'll throw the old people together and they can entertain themselves. You see it always comes around full circle, non?

Of course I have to find and set out all the stuff they have ever given me to appear like I like it. They gave me a chainsaw for Christmas which I hadn't gotten around to needing to use just yet, but my lord if it's still in the box they'll be afraid I don't like it or something. I think I'll grab it and when I see them arriving run into the backyard and start going Paul Bunyon on some trees. Then as they appear, their faces beaming with pride over their gift being used I'll say "oh hey, just out in the woods cutting down trees, like I do everyday at this time".

And then there is the whole who'll pay for what while they're here thing. We'll be at dinner, the check will come, I'll grab it, they will insist they pay, I'll show exasperation at not being able to pay, only to a point mind you, but enough to show my desire to pay all the while secretly not really that eager to shell out $150 or something. You know "the game".

Regardless, I do look forward to what will be a relaxing, fun long weekend and a much needed short break from work.

I took down the temporary fences around the garden with guests coming over so now begins the process of training the Nikster to stay out of the flower beds. And after she finished running in circles in the new open area (just because she can mind you)she in true blue, red blooded American canine fashion decided a flower bed would make a hellaciously good place to plop down. A couple shots from a squirt gun though told her otherwise. Now with the memory of the holy terror that was the squirt gun incident, she'll stay away. She's such a smart girl.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level